Collard Racing Logo

Knockhill 2015 - Ricky retakes series lead

An impressive drive under heavy pressure at Knockhill this afternoon netted Ricky Collard his fourth Ford EcoBoost-powered win of the MSA Formula season, and with it the championship lead he lost yesterday to Lando Norris. Collard took over in front after three laps when Dan Ticktum was ordered to the pits for jumping the start, and held on in front of Carlin man Colton Herta to win by a margin of just 0.6s.

Ricky, whose TRS Arden car started third on the grid was on a mission from the outset, seizing second place from Norris as they headed into the Hairpin on the opening lap. Collard gunned it at the restart on lap 13 to extend his lead to, 0.8s. By lap 18 Collard was 1.4s in front and looking set for victory – and then on the penultimate tour he made a mistake through Hislop’s which allowed his American rival to close right in once again. A do-or-die final lap secured the win for Ricky.

Said Ricky: “I dropped a wheel on the apex on the entry and that cost me really badly. I was pushing so hard to try to get the point for fastest lap. That lap was going really well and then all of a sudden… It gave me a bit of a kick and I asked myself what I thought I was doing! I knew then that I really had to go hard at it on the final lap. The first race of this weekend was a bit of a disaster for me but I think in the future I will be able to look back on Knockhill and know I gave it 100 per cent.”

Provisional results Round 21 Knockhill 23 August 2015
20 laps / 25.34 miles
1 Ricky COLLARD / GBR / TRS Arden 17m 57.031s / 84.69mph
2 Colton HERTA / USA / Carlin +0.656s
3 Sennan FIELDING / GBR / JHR +3.413s
4 Enaam AHMED / GBR / TRS Arden +3.851s
5 Sandy MITCHELL / GBR / TRS Arden +4.459s
6 Rafael MARTINS / BRA / SWB +7.160s
7 Lando NORRIS / GBR / Carlin +8.895s
8 Daniel TICKTUM / GBR / Fortec +9.141s
9 Louise RICHARDSON / GBR / Richardson +12.334s
10 Josh SMITH / GBR / Fortec +13.864s etc
Fastest lap Herta 50.389s / 90.51mph

Provisional championship standings
1 Collard 275; 2 Norris 271; 3 Fielding 233; 4 Ticktum 217; 5 Herta 207; 6 Leist 179; 7 Mitchell 141; 8 James Pull 97; 9 Ahmed 95; 10 Tarun Reddy 80 etc